2022 CEO Leadership Academy

Fri, Jun 24, 2022 to Sun, Jun 26, 2022
Mission Inn Hotel, Riverside
General Info
General Information

Professional development and support for California’s college leaders is a critical investment in the future of our institutions. The CEO Leadership Academy (CLA) is designed by California Community College CEOs for California Community College CEOs. All CEOs are welcome to attend the CEO Leadership Academy, June 24-26, 2022, but we strongly encourage CEOs in the first three years of their role to join us.

The Academy provides the opportunity for CEOs to take a few days to focus on the unique challenges and opportunities confronted by leaders of California Community Colleges. In a small group setting, you will create a cohort through building relationships with colleagues that will prove beneficial for years to come.


Registration Fee: $550
The registration fee for the 2022 CEO Leadership Academy includes meals and session materials.

Registration opens Friday, March 11. The deadline to register is Friday, June 10th. For questions about registration contact Sadie Brown at sadie@ccleague.org.

Registration Cancellation Policy:
All refund requests must be made in writing. To request a refund for your registration email Sadie Brown at sadie@ccleague.org. A $50 processing fee will be charged for all refunds, per registrant. No refunds will be issued for cancellations received after Friday, June 10, 2022.

Hotel & Travel
Hotel Information

Mission Inn Hotel & Spa 
3649 Mission Inn Avenue, Riverside, CA 92501

A room block has been reserved at the Mission Inn Hotel for CEO Leadership Academy attendees. Rooms are available at the special contracted rate of $169/per night plus tax. The contracted hotel room rate is available until Thursday, June 2, 2022, or until the room block is sold out. Reservations made after that date are based on the hotel's availability only and are subject to an increased guest room rate.
NOTE: A hotel booking link will be provided in your registration confirmation email.


The schedule is subject to change.

Friday, June 24

8:30 a.m. − 2:00 p.m.              Registration

11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.           Lunch Keynote Session 1 - Delivering on Board Priorities

1:15 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.              Presidential Panel/ Q & A

2:00 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.              Breakout Small groups

2:45 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.              Break

3:00 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.              Session 2 – CEO/Trustee & CEO Board Relationship

5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.              Reception 

                                                           Dinner On Your Own


Saturday, June 25

7:30 a.m. − 9:00 a.m.              Breakfast & Networking

9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.           Session 3 – Finance Enrollment Management

12:00 p.m. – 12:30 p.m.        Lunch

12:45 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.           Session 4 – Keynote, Chancellor Oakley

1:45 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.              Session 5- Developing a Presidential Vision

3:00 p.m. – 3:15 p.m.              Break

3:15 p.m. – 4:45 p.m.              Session 6- Round Table Topic Discussions

5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.              Networking Reception

                                                           Dinner On Your Own


Sunday, June 26

7:30 a.m. − 9:00 a.m.              Breakfast & Networking

9:00 a.m. – 10:45 a.m.           Session 7 – Creating a Culture of Equity

10:45 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.        Coffee Break

11:00 a.m. – 11:45 p.m.        Session 8 –Closing Conversations

11:45 a.m.                                    Grab N Go Snacks

COVID-19 Policy
COVID-19 Policy

Effective November 15, 2021, all registrants who attend in-person League events are required to be fully vaccinated (have received the full series of the COVID-19 vaccine) OR show proof of a negative COVID-19 test result taken within 72 hours of the start of the event. Fully vaccinated registrants will be asked to verify their vaccination status when registering for the event and will be asked to show proof on-site at the registration desk upon check-in. Unvaccinated registrants will need to provide their negative COVID-19 test results on-site before entering the event meeting space.

Vaccination Cards
Acceptable proof of the COVID-19 vaccine must include one shot of the Johnson & Johnson vaccine OR two shots of the Pfizer or Moderna vaccine, as well as the registrant’s first and last name. Digital (including photos) and paper copy vaccination cards will be allowed. 

To receive a digital copy of your COVID-19 vaccination record from the California Department of Public Health, go to https://myvaccinerecord.cdph.ca.gov/.  For a video tutorial on how to receive it, click here.

Test Results
Proof of a negative COVID-19 test result must include the registrant’s first and last name, birthdate, and show a negative result taken within the last 72 hours. The type of test can be an antigen or PCR/NAAT test for COVID-19 or SARS-CoV-2. The test should be administered by a laboratory or healthcare provider. A COVID-19 self-test, sometimes referred to as “home test,” is not acceptable. Registered attendees can provide a printed or digital copy of their test results.

Masks will be required for the duration of the event. Registrants will receive logistical information via email, including safety and prevention measures, before arrival. 

CSLP Advisory Committee
Thank You CSLP Advisory Committee

The League would like to thank all committee members, presenters and contributors. 

  • Seher Awan, President, Los Angeles Southwest College
  • Lori Bennett, President, Clovis Community College (Co-Chair)
  • Sunita Cooke, Superintendent/President, Mira Costa College
  • Keith Curry, President/CEO, Compton CCD
  • Tawny Dotson, President, Yuba College
  • Larry Galizio, President/CEO, Community College League of California
  • Doug Houston, Chancellor, State Center CCD
  • Pam Luster, President, San Diego Mesa College
  • Bill McGinnis, Trustee, Butte-Glenn CCD
  • Tim McGrath, President, Golden West College (Co-Chair)
  • Dianne McKay, Trustee, Ventura County CCD
  • Ricky Shabazz, President, San Diego City College (Co-Chair)
  • Wanden Treanor, Trustee, Marin CCD
  • Joe Wyse, Superintendent/President, Shasta College 
  • Dianne Van Hook, Chancellor, College of the Canyons